Entering Costa Rica. An update.

There was an update by the Government Authorities, regarding entry into Costa Rica, several more U.S. States will be authorized to enter starting September 1st and 15th, below are more details:

From September 1st 2020:

  • New York
  • New Jersey
  • New Hampshire
  • Maine
  • Vermont
  • Connecticut
  • Maryland*
  • Virginia*
  • District of Columbia (DC)*.

From September 15th 2020:

  • Pennsylvania*
  • Massachusetts*
  • Colorado*

*announced on 27th August 2020

As well, the rules for entry into Costa Rica have been clarified a bit more. Let us explain.

If you’re a tourist, or if you have an application in progress, or approval without a DIMEX, below are the requirements for entry:

  1. Valid passport.
  2. You must come from one of the authorized countries or U.S. States, and you can prove that you have spent at least 14 days in that country (by the stamps on your passport or hotel or Airbnb receipts, etc.). or if you’re a resident of the authorized U.S. State, you must also carry a license or State ID.
  3. You will need a negative COVID-19 test. As stated, the only acceptable test is the real-time polymerase chain reaction test, called PCR-RT for COVID-19. Any other tests will not be accepted. The test needs to be taken 72 hours before the flight to Costa Rica.
  4. You will need an insurance that covers hospitalization and lodging costs, for at least the time of the trip. There’s no exception for those who own homes, or who have an application in progress, hence, you will need to acquire an insurance. We recommend checking here for the latest approved insurers. For international insurances, make sure they cover the following:
    • The policy has to be effective for the duration of your trip to Costa Rica.
    • Guaranteed coverage of medical expenses in the event of becoming ill with the pandemic COVID-19 disease while in Costa Rica, for at least USD $50,000 (fifty thousand United States Dollars).
    • Includes minimum coverage of USD $2,000 for lodging expenses issues due to the pandemic.
  5. Have a round trip ticket or a reservation that shows a departure via air. This is really important because the Immigration officers may request this at the point of entry.
  6. Complete the Health Pass for you and everyone who is travelling with you. Found here.

Please take into consideration that these requirements need to be met in order to enter Costa Rica, and avoid any issues.

If you’re a resident (Temporary, Permanent), or have a Special Category or Estancia, below are the requirements for entry:

  1. Valid passport.
  2. Valid DIMEX (residency) card. If the DIMEX expired before or after December 17, 2019, please contact us.
  3. The CAJA registration is ACTIVE and up to date. This can be confirmed here. If you are travelling with any other residents, please make sure that everyone is up to date (this includes spouses and children).
  4. Completed Health Pass, which can be found here.
  5. If you’re travelling from one of the authorized U.S. States, you must prove your residency via a State ID or License, that determines that you live in that State.
  6. You will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days, unless your point of departure is one of the authorized countries or U.S. States (see the list below), and you can prove that have spent at least 14 days there (by the stamps on your passport, hotel or Airbnb receipts, etc.), and you have a PCR-RT Covid-19 negative test, taken at least 72 hours before the flight
  7. If you come from any other country or a state in the US that is not yet authorized, you will be asked to spend at least 14 days in self-quarantine.

Please take into consideration that these requirements need to be met in order to enter Costa Rica, and avoid any issues.

List of Authorized Countries:

1. Australia, 2. Canada, 3. Swiss Confederation, 4. Vatican State, 5. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, 6. Ireland, 7. Japan, 8. New Zealand, 9. Principality of Liechtenstein, 10. Principality of Monaco, 11. Kingdom of Belgium, 12. Kingdom of Denmark, 13. Kingdom of Spain, 14. Kingdom of the Netherlands, 15. Kingdom of Norway, 16. Kingdom of Sweden, 17. Kingdom of Thailand, 18. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, 19. Czech Republic, 20. Cyprus, 21. Republic of Austria, 22. Republic of Bulgaria, 23. Republic of Korea, 24. Republic of Croatia, 25. Republic of Slovenia, 26. Republic of Estonia, 27. Republic of Finland, 28. Republic of Hungary, 29. Republic of Iceland, 30. Republic of Latvia, 31. Republic of Lithuania, 32. Republic of Malta, 33. Republic of Poland, 34. Republic of San Marino, 35. Republic of Singapore, 36. Slovak Republic, 37. Federal Republic of Germany, 38. French Republic, 39. Hellenic Republic (Greece), 40. Italian Republic, 41. Republic of Uruguay, 42. People’s Republic of China, 43. Portuguese Republic, 44. Romania.

Starting September 1st: New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Maine, Vermont, Connecticut, Maryland, Virginia, and District of Columbia.

Starting September 15th: Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, and Colorado.

For any questions regarding immigration matters, please do not hesitate to contact us at the following e-mail, and we will help you as soon as possible: migracion@ilacr.com.


Immigration Branch

report prepared by https://www.facebook.com/alvaroaguil